Customer reviews for Nutrena NatureWise® Layer 16%

Nutrena NatureWise® Layer 16%

Formulated for natural, balanced nutrition to support production of fresh, hard-shelled eggs in free-range and home-raised flocks.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
92
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
113 out of 118(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Review 1 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!!!!

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Monica
from Tennessee, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been trying so many things for my girls this past year. We've had some stress with losing our rooster and the hens were obviously grieving. Even before then, we were having so many soft eggs and thin shells, even with oyster shell added to the diet. My chickens are all free range, so they aren't missing out on nutrients, but their main food diet just wasn't cutting it.
So I decided to try NatureWise. I'm not gonna lie.....the packaging caught my eye. Also the price for that giant bag was something I couldn't pass up. My girls love it. I'm using the feeder/grower for my littles.....
Whereas with the other brands, they ate like maniacs and I had to keep filling their dish.....this food is eaten at a normal pace now, and I only fill every other evening or morning. They are being satisfied!! The egg shells are so strong!!! I took in two of my sister's bully birds, who had picked each others butts bald.....they are now covered in new feathers after a few months of nothing!
I'm not sure I can say enough about this brand. I do know I will never use anything else. Thank you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My chickens loves this feed!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Customer avatar
doubler
from Potter Valley, CA 95469, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have tried every brand on the market for the egg laying feed. So far this is the only brand that my chickens will eat everything! At this time when feed is expensive, its not worth buying some thing that the chickens won't eat.....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too much dust

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer avatar
dgrace37
from puyallup, wa
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product has a nice price, but I'm usually left with 1/5 bag of dust
at the end...switched back to Purina...
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product for layer hens.

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer avatar
14HappyChickens
from Tres Pinos, California 95075
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVE these layer hen pellets. For one, the pellets are smaller than the other well known national brand, but bigger than crumbles. There is very little waste as they don't leave the "big pellets" and loose the crumbles in the dirt. So the value is greater due to less waste. My egg production and quality are the same as before switching from the other brand.
Only problem, my feed stores don't carry it so I have to special order. Please ask your feed stores, like Tractor Supply, to stock it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is of great quality.

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
egger123
from Pulaski,NY
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding performance , chickens have NEVER looked better, We start out with the chick starter when our day old chicks arrive, when they are 15 weeks old we switch to the layer crumbles, and give them some scratch feeds for a treat. When they go to molt stage we feed feather fixer. Our turkeys and fryers get the meatbird feed. As you can see I love the Nutrena Nature Wise Feeds , It's all we feed. OUTSTANDING products.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feed! Happy chickens!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Laura14
from Hugo, MN
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a small flock of 15-20 chickens. I have fed them a few different custom feed mixes from local feed mills, but always noticed that some of the grains were chosen over others, leaving some amount of wasted feed. Since transitioning to the Nutrena Layer feed over 1 year ago, my chickens don't waste even one pellet! They love this feed. I did try the Nutrena Layer crumbles, which they were not fond of, but I'm quite sure if they could rate the pelleted formula themselves, they'd give it a 10! I also supplement with the Feather Fixer formula during molt(s), which seems to help them recover and replace feathers much faster. We love Nutrena feeds at our farm!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best brand I have found to date

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Nathan
from Clermont, FL, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was feeding cheaper brands to my flock to save money. But, I was not seeing the egg laying rates that the professional claim are possible. That is until the cashier at TSC convinced me to try Naturewise. Within two weeks my hens were laying almost twice as many eggs! They love the feed and it is always fresh and clean.
The only issue I have with the feed is the price. I go through over 100lbs of feed a day so the added cost hurts. If A dollar or two cheaper would make this the perfect feed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good feed for a good price

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
alfred42
from Forest Hill, MD 21050, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My chicks and Pekin duck have no problem with this feed. For some reason all are still laying in the winter season.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
matt
from Decker, MI 48426, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using for about 3 months and been happy with the results.The pellets have had very little fines.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my girls love this feed

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
junior
from North Carolina, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
you have a great product here i have used it for a long time and my hens grow and are healthy thanks for the coupons
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feather Fixer Feeed

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Kwilli6
from Plattsburg, Missouri
Age:45 - 54
This feed really works well on your flock, when you can find it in stock. Very hard to find. Finally found it at Orshlins one day and bought 2 bags with the coupons. Worth buying when you have naked ladies running around! Helps their feathers come in more quickly and brighter. GOOD STUFF!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My chickens love Nutrena feed

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
chicken7
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I cant always find Nutrena feed locally but my chickens seem prefer it when I can get it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't like to add ingredients

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Rach76
from Vancouver, WA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
if only I didn't have to add oyster shells. other brands have enough in them that I don't have to supplement. If I use just this feed I find that my eggs are to fragile.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Chickens do Best with this

PostedMay 24, 2014
Customer avatar
FarmerVJ
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am not a big time chicken raiser, but I have been raising laying hens for about 40 years now. This is the best feed so far that I have used for consistent egg laying either for summer all through winter. If I switch brands the egg production cuts off by 1/4 of total production. They seem to do the best with food to egg conversion with this one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nature wise is great for my flock

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Shiela1
from Martinsville, OH
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I feed my flock nature wise crumbles. I have noticed the egg shells are stronger, the yolks "stand up" in the pan instead of busting immediately on impact.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More eggs

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
etyfarms1
from Scappoose, OR 97056, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The girls like the feed and their egg production is great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect size

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
pigeonman70
from Plover, WI, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the pellets are the perfect size and the pro and pre biotics are a perfect fit for my pigeons
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hens have laid so many more eggs since the first bag I fed them.

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
tallyho201
Age:25 - 34
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I highly recommend this feed for your hens I have not had one problem with the fed
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

use this everyday - my birds look great and lay consistantly!

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
1egglady
from Sheridan, WY 82801, USA
Age:I'd rather not say
Great! My chickens look great and lay great. I sell my eggs and everyone thinks they are greatl
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for NatureWise® Layer 16%
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Price is good

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
mgrace
from Sumner, WA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Changed over from Purina because the price was better and a rep said it was a much better feed. My problem was....I bought the pellets and ended up with a quarter bag of powder. What a waste. Wasn't just one
bag....returned my unopened bags and returned to Purina chicken feeds.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>