Customer reviews for Nutrena Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement

Nutrena Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement

High-fat energy supplement for performance horses and hard keepers
Overall rating:
4.836 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 55 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
52 out of 54(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Review 1 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Did not help

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Hahnerl
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age:Over 65
I used this product for 4 months. It did not help in adding any weight on to my horse as I had hoped. He is extremely athletic and can lose weight very easily. He is high energy. He is ridden from 3 to 7 hours at a time on mountain trails.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LaAM
 
Please wait while more information about LaAM is loaded.
Additional information about LaAM could not be loaded.
Calories in Calories out
Posted June 27, 2015
Feed is not magic. If he works as hard as you say then you need to up his calories. No feed will work if you don't feed the appropriate amount. This is a high fat (calorie dense) feed. You can feed less, but you still have to feed enough. Plus free choice grass/hay
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smells Funny

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
HawaiianKaugirl
Palatability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
To me this feed smells funny, like it has a creamy smell which is strange. I was feeding it to my cutting mare but she was leaving about 1/2 of it in her feeder and trying to get a hold of the Safe Choice i was feeding to my geldings. I don't really know why but she prefers the SafeChoice alot better and I thinks its a better pick. Just my opinion.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Shauna
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about Shauna is loaded.
Additional information about Shauna could not be loaded.
Posted July 10, 2012
Do you feed it to get in addition to or instead of a grain?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work.

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Martha
from Cornwallville, NY 12418, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have my 30 year old appaloosa on safe choice senior and empower boost and he is doing great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LoriM
BG Ky
 
Please wait while more information about LoriM is loaded.
Additional information about LoriM could not be loaded.
great product
Posted June 23, 2015
My 25 yr old App was beginning to have problems keeeping weight up. Ive had him on Empower Boost since last winter. What a difference. Hes healthier than hes been in a long time. So thankful I found this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This sounds like what my old girl needs.

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
horsgal59
from Mississippi, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a 26 yr old mare that is starting to show signs of aging. I have her teeth done every year, and she has never been a Big horse. She has been on Nutrene product for many years after consulting a Cargill rep. and she has been fine. She has NEVER been a big eater, I try to get 6lbs in her in 2 meals a day. She is on pasture and gets quality hay am & pm. She has been on Compete for a year, and I have been giving her Empower Boost for a couple of weeks now, and really not seeing a difference yet ! I just purchased a second bag, and hope to see something happen soon. Also, vet said it's time to switch to a senior feed.....so I have also just picked up our first bag of Life Design Senior.......sure hope this helps. She is the kind of horse that only eats so much and will walk away from food. I real lady, she likes to leave a little on her plate !!! Like a few others mentioned, in this economy it is a bit pricey.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rusty
Edinboro PA
 
Please wait while more information about Rusty is loaded.
Additional information about Rusty could not be loaded.
The energy I need for trail riding.
Posted November 23, 2013
I give my horse Empower suppliment when I trail ride , I add 1 cup to his grain 2 x day and found that he has the stanima and energy I need to ride 5-7 hours without the lazy periods that he used to have before trying Empower . My horse feels good , looks good and is much more responsive and willing to give me his 'all' . A great product to keep our horses healthy when working hard .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best all-in-one supplement

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
PostOakShagyas
from Missouri
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We feed it to two of our older horses and like the way it keeps weight on. One of our mares has very dry skin and we have noticed this product helps her coat stay more consistent. Also, we use Empower during the endurance competition season where we use it at rides or under heavy training. It really seems to give them more energy, especially late in the season.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for weight gain/keeping weight on!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
KimJ78
from Caledonia, WI
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this product is great for my gelding who has a hard time gaining & keeping weight on, especially in winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product if used properly but a bit expensive.

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Beka
Palatability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've used this product a lot, TBs off the track that need to put on some weight, Rescue horses that are starved and hard to keep older horses that senior just isn't enough for them. I mix it with Beet pulp and high protein grain to increase palatability and add even more weight and keep the cost down, it doesn't take much Empower to get the weight back on and keep it on, so a 50# bag lasts a while, but it's usually between $35-$50 per bag so it's quite a bit of an investment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Em;power Boost

PostedJune 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Bucknbb
Age:55 - 64
I put my 27 yr old Arabian mare on it, when she started losing body weight and it has been a miracle. She looks great now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has made a wonderful major difference in our 29 yrs old quarter horse!

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Bobbibut50Pedro
from Hamilton County, TX, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Our horse had lost 50 - 100 lbs. Would not eat his feed, until we got newer Nutrena Safe-choice Senior form a different supplier and increasing his amount of feed. Then adding the Empower Boost really kicked in to bring him up to snuff! Thanks for a great product~
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Hard Keepers/Performance

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
2WendySue
from Brentwood, CA, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have a large QH mare with a big engine, who's a picky eater, and struggled to keep weight up while training, trying to avoid using hot feeds. High quality blue grass/alfalfa hay mix was available at all times was not enough to keep correct weight on with exercise. Comparing & buying many products with high fat, in various formats, this has been the best total solution for the money. She loves to eat it, and it really works. Her coat is stunning, does not make her hot, and we are able to maintain with 1# twice a day. Thank goodness for Empower Boost!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Miracle Product

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer avatar
SoggyOakFarms
from Florida
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough good things about this product! My NSH mare is such a hard keeper in the winter. I feed her this and a cheap sweet feed. She has dapples on her coat now that it's summer and feels SO GOOD. I can't recommend this product enough. A bit pricey, but SO WORTH THE MONEY! Thanks so much!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working good!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer avatar
walknsound
from Alabama
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm giving it to a rescue horse with multiple problems. She's been on it a couple of months with a very big difference unlike other supplements I tried with no success. A Nutrena rep at a horse fair listened to her list of problems and recommended I try Empower Boost, boy am I glad I did!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for hard keeper

PostedApril 19, 2015
Customer avatar
EmilyL714
from Missouri, USA
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to help try and put weight on my young thoroughbred mare. She dropped almost 100lbs at the end of winter even though she was being blanketed, fed 24/7 high quality hay, and grain. I put her on empower and WOW I am impressed. My mare went from weighing 1017 lbs to 1090 in just 3 weeks! We are now on week 4, she has gained more weight and you can't see her ribs, her coat is shiny and her energy level is up again! Love this product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My horse looks awesome now!!

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Sandpile617
from Vero Beach, FL, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have an 18 yr old OTTB mare who never had problems with weight but she had no top line and no neck. A feed store recommended we try this on her and she is now an amazing looking horse! She also loves the Empower Boost. She has been on Empower Boost for a year and half now. She's a dark bay and this spring and last she actually dappled out which she's never done before, so this has not only been great for her form but her coat is also beautiful. She's always getting compliments (never had that before) and I'm always being asked what I feed her. Vets have complimented us on her overall health and condition . We have just acquired an APHA mare who had some weight issues. We started the Empower Boost 2 months ago and she is now also looking much healthier and filling out nice and slowly and correctly. This is a wonderful product and I'm grateful to have found out about it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my QH Stallion looks awesome

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Double2
from Kansas, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My Quarter Horse Stallion has been on half Nutrena original and half Empower Boost since the AQHA World Show 2014.
He looks and feels great, shiny coat and not extra energy or hot at all. I'm convinced it gave him the bloom to achieve AQHA Performance Champion. He has plenty of energy for team roping, reining, barrels and then can work quiet and controlled for ranch riding and performance halter. Great Product!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer avatar
lorilyn
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this, it work great for my pregnant mare. She has been on this for about 4 months and she is now ready to foal, she is a hard keeper. This has been helping her with her weight along with the Mare & Foal feed. I use this on all my hard keepers. In my opinion I really like the boost.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer avatar
AntiM
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Empower is a good product. My 34 year old Saddlebred is still going strong using this product along with Nutrena Senior.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Boost is great

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Julie1
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 27 year old Arabian had lost weight and had had several close calls. I thought I'd lost him. But, with help from Senior Safe Choice and Empower Boost(and family members), he's doing great now, He looks and acts like a younger horse would now. The only problem I have now is finding Empower Boost that's new enough. Thank you, Nutrena!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Picky horse loves this

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
MichellePA
from Dover, PA 17315, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to put a little weight on my 15 year old gelding. He's very picky and I've tried different types of powders,pellets and oils all of which he wouldn't eat right away or after a week he would stop eating it. (He's been picky since he was a 2 year old it's not health related...ulcers etc...). Well I decided to try the boost and I'm so glad I did! He has never left any of it in his feed tub. And I noticed him gaining weight after 4 weeks of being on his regular ration of grain and 1 lb of the boost daily. I'm thankful that Nutrena makes such a great product! I would highly recommend this to anyone who needs to add calories/fat safely.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My horse LOVES this

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
camilleg
from Tucson, AZ
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I decided to try this to add weight to my 23 year old thoroughbred who is still in consistent work but doesn't chew hay as well anymore. It has added a nice amount of weight over the last month or two and he hasn't made him hot either, which is a problem I find when trying to get him to gain weight. He also absolutely loves this stuff, can't get enough of it! It is a little pricey but worth it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>