Customer reviews for Nutrena Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement

Nutrena Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement

High-fat energy supplement for performance horses and hard keepers
Overall rating:
4.842 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Review 1 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smells Funny

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
HawaiianKaugirl
Palatability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
To me this feed smells funny, like it has a creamy smell which is strange. I was feeding it to my cutting mare but she was leaving about 1/2 of it in her feeder and trying to get a hold of the Safe Choice i was feeding to my geldings. I don't really know why but she prefers the SafeChoice alot better and I thinks its a better pick. Just my opinion.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Shauna
Alabama
 
Please wait while more information about Shauna is loaded.
Additional information about Shauna could not be loaded.
Posted July 10, 2012
Do you feed it to get in addition to or instead of a grain?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This sounds like what my old girl needs.

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
horsgal59
from Mississippi, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a 26 yr old mare that is starting to show signs of aging. I have her teeth done every year, and she has never been a Big horse. She has been on Nutrene product for many years after consulting a Cargill rep. and she has been fine. She has NEVER been a big eater, I try to get 6lbs in her in 2 meals a day. She is on pasture and gets quality hay am & pm. She has been on Compete for a year, and I have been giving her Empower Boost for a couple of weeks now, and really not seeing a difference yet ! I just purchased a second bag, and hope to see something happen soon. Also, vet said it's time to switch to a senior feed.....so I have also just picked up our first bag of Life Design Senior.......sure hope this helps. She is the kind of horse that only eats so much and will walk away from food. I real lady, she likes to leave a little on her plate !!! Like a few others mentioned, in this economy it is a bit pricey.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rusty
Edinboro PA
 
Please wait while more information about Rusty is loaded.
Additional information about Rusty could not be loaded.
The energy I need for trail riding.
Posted November 23, 2013
I give my horse Empower suppliment when I trail ride , I add 1 cup to his grain 2 x day and found that he has the stanima and energy I need to ride 5-7 hours without the lazy periods that he used to have before trying Empower . My horse feels good , looks good and is much more responsive and willing to give me his 'all' . A great product to keep our horses healthy when working hard .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best all-in-one supplement

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
PostOakShagyas
from Missouri
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We feed it to two of our older horses and like the way it keeps weight on. One of our mares has very dry skin and we have noticed this product helps her coat stay more consistent. Also, we use Empower during the endurance competition season where we use it at rides or under heavy training. It really seems to give them more energy, especially late in the season.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for weight gain/keeping weight on!

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
KimJ78
from Caledonia, WI
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
this product is great for my gelding who has a hard time gaining & keeping weight on, especially in winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product if used properly but a bit expensive.

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Beka
Palatability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've used this product a lot, TBs off the track that need to put on some weight, Rescue horses that are starved and hard to keep older horses that senior just isn't enough for them. I mix it with Beet pulp and high protein grain to increase palatability and add even more weight and keep the cost down, it doesn't take much Empower to get the weight back on and keep it on, so a 50# bag lasts a while, but it's usually between $35-$50 per bag so it's quite a bit of an investment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
AmberCarter
from Robesonia, PA 19551, USA
Age:Under 18
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i run a boarding facility and every horse there is on excellent quality feed and all the horses at least get a cup of this at each feeding. it has help so much with my two hard keeper they were getting 2.5 scps of grain am and pm that got pricey but by me giving them 5 cups of empower boost and now 4 quarts of feed each feeding. they are packing on the pounds nicely! we also give them all free choice hay and grass all year round. everyone at my barn that has family and friends with horses recommend this product! we will be getting our next skid load and i honestly can not wait!
THANKS NUTRENA FOR YOUR WONDERFUL PRODUCTS THAT YOU CARRY! :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
crys
from springCat Spring, TX 78933, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We Rescued A Horse And Could Not Get Weight On Him. Saw An Ad About Empower And My Husband And I Decided To Try It. After Only Two Bags He Looks Amazing. Still Has A Little Ways To Go But The Product Showed Amazing Results. Thank You For Such Great Products
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Results!!!

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
FaithsMom
from Templeton, MA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After struggling with my high energy thoroughbred mare who loses weight when she breathes- I consulted with my Nutrena rep and she highly recommended the Boost. It had a HUGE effect on my mare- this is the most weight she's every carried, especially through her growth spurts, and looks amazing! She's going into this winter for the first time at a great weight where I won't need to worry as much as to what she will look like come spring.
She loves it, keeps her level headed and looks great! Thanks Nutrena- I am forever grateful!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Empower Boost is Amazing !

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Meggie22
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will never use another feed for my horses. One of my mares has a fairly high metabolism so her weight is always up and down, not with Empower even when she is working and training hard she is in peak physical condition. Thank You Nutrena !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST rice bran supplement around!

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
jegrif
from Pollocksville, NC 28573, USA
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After doing some research, I decided to try Empower Boost for my growing AQHA gelding. With just 2 cups a day, he quickly started to look amazing! It helped put weight on him and helped make it easier for him to build and maintain muscle and a topline. I really loved how it helped him turn into a beautiful, truly golden buckskin and received many compliments on his appearance.
I now use this supplement on a slightly taller, more refined gelding and it is working wonders! I recommend this product for anyone who has a horse that needs a little help maintaining or gaining weight or muscle. Excellent choice for performance horses!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for any horse

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Maheira
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this supplement for horses at a healthy weight, and horses that were neglected. I have always had excellent results with all Nutrena products, but especially love this one and the Empower Balance. I sold two of my horses, but they were returned to me in a neglected state, and to bring them back to health I fed them Life Design Senior and Empower Boost. When they reached a healthy weight I put them on Empower Balance, and still give them a little Boost. They are on Grass pasture and hay in the winter. They look amazing, and run around like they are half their age. Thanks, Nutrena!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
ARABlady
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My old guy had EPM and has always had some muscle and weight issues. I started him on this in addition to Safechoice and saw ahuge improvement. HE loves the taste and so does my pony who only gets a handful on occasion. It is a bit expensive but worth the cost. My old man has been spunky and sassy as ever and even started to get a little round-which has never happened since Ive known him. Well worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my 27 year old horse's life

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
roundwoman
from St. Johns, AZ
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 27 year old Foxtrotter, a poor keeper all his life, had started losing weight over a year ago. Nothing seemed to help him regain and keep weight on, until we discovered Empower. Being a picky eater, he did not like the taste at first so we mix it with sweet feed and now he loves it. Within 3 months he had regained all the weight he had lost, and keeps it on even through our cold winter. The best part is that he has regained his Dennis the Menace, youthful outlook on life and no longer acts like a defeated old horse. Empower gave him a new lease on life, and while it seems expensive can you really put a price on a horse actually being reborn? Thank you for a wonderful product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing muscle development on my PSSM Quarter Horse

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
camden
from Mid Mo
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 17-year old P/P PSSM Quarter horse. Over the years we have tried many fat products, from corn/veggie oil to several pricey commercial products and supplements. The vegetable oil didn't seem to help much. A couple of feeds from a Nutrena competitor stopped his muscle degeneration for a while, but in the last year, his muscles have really degenerated and his gaits have become very labored. His rump looked like a starved horse and his topline was bony, while from the withers forward he was muscular. I've been using Empower Boost, about five cups twice a day, for about three months. His topline is now that of a normal horse, and his rump is filling out quickly with lovely hard muscles. He has gained no fat that I can tell. He's running and playing in the pasture, and just seems to feel better. I can't wait for the weather to warm up so that we can begin more intense workouts. I can't say enough good things about Empower Boost. The change in my horse has been simply amazing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good qua;ity supplement

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
kaz66
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I feed this to my hardkeeper and he loves it. I feed it with Safechoice perform and he looks great and I don't have to feed more grain or hay and he is not too energetic.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
appymom
ky
 
Please wait while more information about appymom is loaded.
Additional information about appymom could not be loaded.
Excellent Product
Posted January 29, 2014
I wished I had found this product a few months earlier. I had started my 29 yr old mare on this and she was beginning to gain weight. But developed pneumonia and passed away. But I have her first born who is now 24 and he was going down quick in this bitter cold. Hes been on empower boost for a month now and is gaining weight in winter!! Thats unheard of for him. He will remain on this for the rest of his life. Thanks nutrena for an awesome product thst helps our SR horses live healthier and long. I recommend this product to everyone I know with SR horses.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Older horse

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Mztaken1
from Alvin, TX, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 25+ ? Yr old gelding, I could not get him to keep weight, I bought him to save his life, so that he could spend his remaining time with someone to love him, and my son loves him, we have tried just about everything to keep his weight on him, I called and spoke to a Nutrena support person what wonderful people they have, I have always fed Nutrena products was told to put him on Safe choice and the Booster rice bran 22% fat, what a huge difference in three months have made on him, I have had three people stop to ask what I am doing to make this horse look so good, I tell them about the people at Nutrena and all of their help, I know when I go out to see him he almost runs to the gate to get his feed, what a great sight to see him with all of that energy, and spring to his step, his coat is almost glowing, awesome!!!! Thanks to everyone at Nutrena!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for older horses!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
GenD
from Liberty Hill, TX, USA
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have my 30 year old gelding on 2 pounds of Empower Boost with 6 pounds of Life Design Senior and 1 oz of weight builder, he gets it all twice a day. I have been feeding him this for 30 days now and there is a noticable difference in his weight. You can barely see his ribs and his butt is starting to round out. I have to wet his food because he doesnt have many teeth and it absorbs the water fairly quick so it makes feeding time easier. My only complaint is the price. I bought 2 bags this morning and they were about $34 each. Once my old guy gets weight on him I'll be taking him off Empower boost because of the cost but its great for putting weight. If it were the same price as the Life Design Senior I would continue feeding it to him.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horses maintain thier weight

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Horselover2
from Manhattan, KS, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We started using Empower Boost (Rice Bran) about a month ago. We have been feeding it to the older horses. They have picked up in spirit and are putting on some weight that they had lost from the hot days that we had back in July and August. Another horse owner had told me about a horse that he had and hopw he was able to put wiehgt back on him by using rice bran in the feed. The cost upfront may be high but because of the amount that it feed the cost is very good. We have three horses on the Empower right now and they are all three doing wonderfull.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
GabbysMom2012
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My horse was hospitalized for a total of 22 days in May/June of 2012. When she came out she was thin and I was looking for something to help put weight back on. I used Nutrena Life Designs Senior and Empower Boost. My horse has come back in probably the best health she has been in this whole year. Some of my friends questioned the cost but when I explain you don't feed very much...the get it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Empower™ Boost High-Fat Rice Bran Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

could not ask for or find any better feed.....

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
MMgold2003
from kenly, nc
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i deal with a wide range of breeds with horses, over the last year i have found Empower "boost" has help Me more then any other feed out there with recondition these rescue horses!!! love this complete feed!! tryed to load pictures from before and after Photo's were unable to...sorry!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>