Customer reviews for Nutrena Life Design® Senior Horse Feed

Nutrena Life Design® Senior Horse Feed

Superior nutrition for senior horses
Overall rating:
4.85 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
77 out of 80(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Review 1 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Old Man

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Carolyn80
from Marietta, GA
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have owned horses for 20 years and 'Boarded' my horses most all of that time. Never really having to think about what my horse was being fed. On my last move that all changed. I was now the main care giver. I kept Tex (my at the time 23 year old thoroughbred) on Safe Choice thinking that keeping him on the same feed would result in the same body condition and stave off ulcers that we have had problems with. My mistake, the feed still did it's job but as time went by Tex started loosing weight and just not being himself. It came time to make some changes for him. I took my time, talked to my vet and read up on equine nutrition. I decided to stay with Nutrina and change to Life Design Senior. I trust the brand and had a feeling that, if I just find the right feeding plan, Tex would start on the right path of a healthy, happy senior horse. Within a week of starting Life Design Senior as well as a weight supplement I was finally seeing the horse that I had come to know 14 years ago when we first met. In six months he went from weighing 970 Lbs to 1035+ Lbs. I still work every day to keep him happy, but I no longer feel like I have to work to keep him healthy. As the up coming year adds another to the 26 years Tex has enjoyed so far I look forward to what ever time we will have together. I dream that it will be many, but know to love him every day like it was our last.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Feed is great for all horses.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
HappyHooves
from Zumbrota, MN 55992, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A few years ago we decided to get back into horses and one of them is a 23 year old Arabian gelding. Skinny, very bad and missing teeth, and very neglected. We got him on some feed but couldn't maintain him in the winter. He was still a new horse to us but he is the best of the best for my daughter and we started feeding Lifedesign Complete as a mash. He is still doing great so I started feeding my 10 year old TB the same feed since he liked it so much and it was full of prebiotics and probiotics and all the other fabulous nutrition. He is also a calorie burner and would lose weight on a trail ride. This feed has made him much calmer and he maintains his weight easily. Sweetfeeed was like feeding them donuts and LifeDesign is like feeding them lobster. They are much better on the trails and not crazy at feeding time. It seems like the feed does not give them the spike in blood sugars like other feeds. And they are healthy and a good weight. It is expensive feed but what good is an unhealthy horse?
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sassy
jeromesville,ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Sassy is loaded.
Additional information about Sassy could not be loaded.
Great feed!
Posted October 12, 2012
My old mare was doing okay on safe choice, but after years needed something more. I tried this and she looks great!
Need more printable coupons for it though.
Thanks Nutrena..
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Quarter Horse "Bud" is 35, has a beautiful lustrous coat, good weight, and muscle tone

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Budderball
from Simi Valley, CA, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I really want to tell everyone how wonderful Life Design Senior horse Feed has kept my 35 year old Quarter Horse Gelding looking and feeling like he is decades younger than he really is. I was 23 and he was 12 years old when I bought him. I am now 46 and he is 35, and very much still a part of our family. I started feeding him Nutrena Senior about 12 years ago. I tried several other brands, and Life Design is the best one. Very digestible and he simulates all the ingredients. I found with several other brands that I would find a lot of it wasted in his stools. Not Nutrena Senior his digestive system uses all the nutrition. He hardly has any teeth left. Horse teeth aren't meant to last 35 years, but with Nutrena Senior, his weight and muscle tone, and coat are just beautiful. My children absolutely love him, and my daughter calls him her "Angel Baby."
Thank you Life Design Senior Horse Feed :)
Bud thanks you too!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
shark
Woodland Hills, CA
 
Please wait while more information about shark is loaded.
Additional information about shark could not be loaded.
Amazing Horse
Posted August 17, 2013
Wow, Bud is a beautiful horse. I can't believe he is 35! Nutrena Senior really does work.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Young - Off Track Thoroughbred loves Life Design Senior!

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Silky
from Manchester, PA, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I adopted a 4 year old, Off Track Thoroughbred about a month ago. She was under weight and needed to gain some weight. She was on a very high sweet feed and I wanted to get her off of it ASAP. After speaking with several friends, I contacted Nutrena about their products to look for a feed that was higher in fat, protein and fiber. Now I know she is only 4 years of age, but since she's an off track thoroughbred, and a hard keeper, this Life Design senior feed is perfect for her! Now, would she eat it was my next question. She loves it and she's not just standing around anymore. She wants to interact with, not only us humans but the other horses as well. A big thank you goes to the Nutrena Nutrition Consultant that helped me choose the perfect feed for our girl. We can see a big change in her in a short amount of time! She was my daughter's 12 birthday present and we could not be happier!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A New Lease on Life

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Angel
from California, MO 65018, USA
Age:I'd rather not say
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My quarter horse stallion will be 27 next spring. About 5 years ago I noticed him slowing down. He moved stiffly, his feet seemed tender, his ligaments popped when he moved and it was hard to keep weight on him even though I had him on a well known brand of senior feed. At the recommendation of a friend I switched him to Nutrena Life Design Senior and within about three months I noticed him moving better, he was beginning to put on weight and he looked like he was regaining his spark that I thought was gone for good. As the months rolled by it looked like the years were rolling away. He looks and acts like a horse 10 years younger when he lopes across his pasture with the same smooth flowing stride he had years ago. Poison is a wonderful horse and I'm so grateful to Nutrena Life Design Senior for giving him a new lease on life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Renewed life in an old pony

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Glenda
from Bartlesville, OK
Age:45 - 54
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have a Welsh pony that is at least in her mid-30's. She had been going down hill for a couple of years. Loss of energy, acting mentally confused, and stumbling. After trying several changes to her feed I bought a bag of Nutrena Senior. Within a couple of days she was galloping and nickering to meet me at the gate. Her confidence level and attitude is totally off the charts! Last week I went to buy feed and they told me they didn't have any Nutrena Senior and I was forced to buy another brand. My mare's head went down, her feet started dragging again and she had to be led into the barn. I went back a few days later, they had it in stock, I bought it and started her back on it that night. The next morning she was nickering and trotting to the gate to greet me again. Don't ever stop making your Nutrena Senior!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this feed!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
KT47
from Oviedo, FL, USA
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I switched my 21 yr old Thoroughbred mare to this one month ago, after she lost a lot of weight on her previous feed. She's been gaining weight back slowly but surely and her coat is getting shinier too. She likes it, though she's never been a picky eater. It's giving her more pep too, though not sure she needed that much.
I feed her 8 cups twice a day with 2 flakes coastal hay and 1 heavy flake T/O/A hay, every day. Will definitely cut back on the feed once she reaches her goal weight.
Her stall cleanliness is better too. Her stall isn't so messy and smelly as before. Much easier to clean. I will be feeding her this until the day she dies. :)
Only setback is it's price. A little steep at about nineteen bucks. (At least it is everywhere I've found it). It's a good feed though, so I guess I'm stuck paying it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Design Senior Extends Life quality in Senior

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Suew30
from Angelica, NY, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My appendix quarter horse is 27 years old. He has always been an "easy" keeper until approximately the last 5 yirs. He has lost all, but 1 of his molars and of course is not processing feed as he should. He has had (in the past) significant wt. lose and turns his nose up at hay which he used to love. Of course, this is because he can't chew it. I started him on Life Design senior two winters ago and I am so please by the way he is able to maintain his wt. throughout the winter months. He has always looked young for his age, but no one would guess he is 27! The pre and probiotics are a wonderful addition to senior feed and the rice bran and beet pulp!! I also supplement hay pellets as he needs to have the additional chewing. Thanks!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Results

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
dozo923
from Olathe, KS
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The barn I board at feeds a house blend of Nutrena. I have a 13 yr old gelding that was diagnosed in March 2011 with Navicular Disease. I previously had him on a joint supplement (didn't see much improvement in the 4 years on it) and then the barn owner recommended that I switch him to the Senoir Feed...what a DIFFERENCE that has made. He no longer has the snap, crackle, pop effect in his hind joints. Also, an added bonus his mane, tail and coat are in better condition than they have ever been!! All I know, is when I eventually get my own place, I plan on feeding only Nutrena products. They have made my horsey friend very happy (and myself) !! Thank you so much for such a great product!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps weight on my senior horse

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Marj12
from Geauga Cnty., Oh.
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After years of searching for a feed that will keep weight on my 22 yr, old quarter horse/thoroughbred gelding , I finally found one that works! J.R. (son of Artful Move, who is half-thoroughbred) was always "ribby", and vets etc. always commented on his thinness, no matter how much I fed him. Finally I tried Nutrena Senior, and he's never looked better! He gets that, hay and a joint supplement, and he's the happy herd boss of 5 mares, 2 geldings, 2 minis and a 6 mth. old filly! He still acts like a 2-yr. old (including the occasional Lippizanner leap and buck in mid-air!). The feed is a little pricey, but it's worth it to see him so happy and healthy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our 4 quarter horses love it; even the 10-year old.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Bobbibut
from Hico, Texas
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It is an excellent feed for our 3 seniors (27, 26, 23) and it seems to be very palatable. (haven't tried it my self). Occasionally I find a little more small grainy stuff than usual, but I don't think it's a problem; they seem to lick that up too.
Ours are on maintenance, and at their ages the older ones don't work too hard, so we feed a bit less than recommended, but with their coastal hay and some grass, they're doing fine. (I just wish the pictures I'm adding could be a little larger to show the whole horse.)
A little pricey in the surrounding 25 miles of Hico Texas, but I don't want any of the other brands, they are not as good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bobbibut50
Hico Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Bobbibut50 is loaded.
Additional information about Bobbibut50 could not be loaded.
Photos I supplied
Posted February 19, 2013
Just discovered clicking on the thumbnails enlarges the picture.
So now I see that the single sorrel horse I added is NOT my 26-yr.old mare, it is the 10 year old youngster. They are both doing great, thanks to Nutrena. I also should have mentioned that our eldest (27 gelding) used to colic very often. Up to 23 times in one year. Cooper (store) urged us to try Nutrena Life Design Senior. It has worked miracles, he only colics now with early spring grass once in a while. Thank you Nutrena.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Puts on weight fast.

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Debra01
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have an "Old" horse, 35 years old. Two years ago he lost a significant amount of weight over the winter. That spring I took him to our local vet to have his teeth floated. The Vet informed me 90% of his molar teeth were gone and the remaining 4 were loose. He said he had never seen a horse alive with his molars missing. He suggested putting him on a hot mash diet, something he could swallow easily. Scotty wanted no part of hot mash so I began him on Senior. Within 2 months he had put the weight back on and is still going strong. I agree, the feed is expensive but an amazing product if you need to maintain an older horse.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extreamly Healthy and Horses Love It!

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Sunshine23
Age:Under 18
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have two older horses. One is a 22 year old Arabian gelding and the other is a 24 year old Appaloosa gelding. They both love this feed!
I have a hard time getting my Arab to stay on his feed, especially in the winter. He looses weight rapidly and also looses muscle mass. This feed fulfills both requirements for him. He keeps eating it too! I can give this to him to help supplement his dry feed and it makes him want to eat that too!
The Appaloosa is slowy going blind from genetic causes. I like the added vitamins and minerals in the feed that help keep the diseases out of his eyes and keep the rest of him healthy also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best senior feed available!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Customer avatar
mirage790
from Rockford, MI, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After trying several different senior feeds over the past 5-7 years, I found Life Design Senior and switched to it a little over a year ago. On the other feeds I had tried my old Saddlebred gelding just remained in a generally unthrifty looking condition and really looked his age. Now he's 30 years old and has a sleek, shiny coat, is at his optimum weight, doesn't look a day over 15, and gets excited to go trail riding again! Even the vet wouldn't believe he's 30 years old until he checked his teeth! This is the best senior feel on the market!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Senoir Feed is Amazing

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
delavega76
from Beach Park, IL, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A little over a Year Ago, I rescued 2 Horses, Riker a 18 yr. old Quarter Horse & Whistler a 19 yr. old Standardbred, They were in really bad Condition, Rain Rot, Fungus on their hooves, undernourished. I put them on Nutrena Senior Feed and a handful of ultimate finish, Morning and Evening, over the next 12 months they kept getting stronger, energetic, and their coats improved. Nutrena Senior Feed is the reason my Horses look good, and their quality of health has vastly Improved, Riker Thanks you, Whistler Thanks you & I thank You, Lou Ortiz
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best senior feed available

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from ILLINOIS
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Life design senior feed is the best available. Our 28 year old registered quarter horse mare has thrived on it for the last 12 years. It has excellent palatability and texture for the senior horse. The ingredients are better in proportion and quality than the "other" big name brand of senior feed. It can be fed with hay or without. The only drawback is it is somewhat expensive, but you pay for what you get. Nutrena sends out coupons from their website at times and this helps with the cost. Overall, it is the best!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Won't find a better feed!!

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
qhorses24
from Holden, Mo
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a mare that is a very hard keeper, and I was feeding her just a 12% protein sweet feed, and I would spend a ton on additional supplements because the grain itself wasn't enough. I was hesitant at 1st to try Life Design Senior because of the price, but after switching I would never go back. I quit purchasing the additional supplements because they were not needed. My mare has never looked better, even with riding and showing her all summer her weight never decreased and her coat looked wonderful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

highly recommend

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Butter
from Oakwood
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I work at a retail that sells this and I highly recomend this, I have personally had a 18 yr old mare that came in sick, skin and bones, wormy and all kinds of stomach problems, this feed was easy on her stomach and after several months on this her personality mellowed, her health greatly improved and she put weight on verry nicely even being that old and that rough of shape, I wish I would of started her on this to begin with could of got her on track faster and saved a lot of money in the long run
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smells good enough for me to eat!

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Cindy
from Durand, IL 61024, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We took in a 20+yr. old Appendix QH mare that was severely underweight and with the help of Nutrena Senior Feed, she made a full recovery went through an additional surgery and has been able to maintain all of her weight! She regained a shiny coat, grew a beautiful mane and tail, and her hooves are much more stable. The feed was one of a few things that helped her! She was able to digest it without any problems to her digestive system too!! Every time I open the bag, I say yum...it smells so good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
prairierose
Central Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about prairierose is loaded.
Additional information about prairierose could not be loaded.
It does smell good!
Posted February 18, 2013
I wrote a review too yesterday, and when I read your review, I wanted to add that my horse's mane really grew long, about 16" now, and thick and healthy, along with his body coat being so shiny, and his tail is looking like it will be great swatting flies this summer, it got so long. LOL
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Life Design® Senior Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Gerri
from Albany, NY
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 25 year old Morgan Gelding has numerous health issues. Two years ago he was admitted to our vet clinic for one week with a very poor prognosis. I put him on six lbs. of Life Design Senior with free choice hay everyday and he looks amazing. He wastes most of his hay so I am so thankful for Life Design Senior. Without this product, he would become malnourished. I am absolutely convinced that Life Design Senior is keeping my beloved morgan not only alive, but enjoying quality life again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>