Customer reviews for Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

A proven controlled starch formula to support healthy digestion and performance.
Overall rating:
4.83 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(471 reviews) 471
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 471 reviews
5 Stars
412
4 Stars
46
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
455 out of 464(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Review 1 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
KDavis
from Cherryvale, KS 67335, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We started feeding this product after having been to a Chris Cox Tour Stop and he recommended it. At the time we had two older horses that we didn't feel were maintaining their weight and condition like they should. After switching to Nutrena SafeChoice there was a significant improvement in both of them. We have added two young horses to the our program and they all get SafeChoice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have had good results with this product

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
countryg
from Indiana, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have show horses, working horses and rescues -- this is the one product that I can feed to all with good results in condition. It has taken the constant mixing of supplements and digestive aids out of the the daily feeding. I am very pleased with the product. The first introduction sometimes takes some encouragement, but once used to it -- they seem to take right off.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is a very good choice for all of your basic needs

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Painter1
from Iowa, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this feed since 2006 and always start a new horse or any age horse on this feed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best feed yet!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Peppy
from Morganton, NC 28655, USA
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Love it for all my horses- young, old, training, trail, etc
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for easy keepers

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Dragonchick
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always made my own mix of horse food to give my horses the best balance in nutrition. I have studied horse nutrition for five years and currently use Safe Choice as my base feed and then add smaller precentages of other feeds to it. I have always used pelleted feed free of sugar so I am not sure how well horses will like it who have been on a sugar feed. My horses love it plain or in my personal mix. I would highly recommend Safe Choice, especially to anyone feeding a sweetfeed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peanut52
Louisiana
 
Please wait while more information about Peanut52 is loaded.
Additional information about Peanut52 could not be loaded.
Posted February 23, 2015
I use safe choice and I use to mix mine with other feed but they do better just safe choice. and I don't have to feed as much. My horses stays fat.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I definitly recommend this feed for all horses

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Bubbas
from Ohio, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Nutrena Regular Safe Choice is the only feed my 34 year old will eat.
I have tried Senior feeds and other feeds but he just turns his nose up at them. It has been a great feed for all of my horses in the barn ranging in age from 2 to 34.
I would recommend this feed to anyone!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consistent quality

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Cilann
from Upstate NY and Florida
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My horse is insulin resistant. This has been a good feed for her. It is easier to maintain a good weight with good energy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safe choice original

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
SharnJean
from Science Hill, KY 42553, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A customer at Tractor Supply put me onto this feed when I was making a change. I simply love pellets, no undigested seed in manure=money loss.manure breaks down quicker. Overall condition of my horses is excellent since making the change.
With 5 horses on safe choice, I started buying by the pallet. Wish there was a bulk coupon.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for horses with sugar problems

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Stalare
from Senatobia, MS, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the only food that I feed my horses!!! I have tried others which created problems with laminitis and will NEVER use anything other than SafeChoice Original. My horses love it and do much better with it. Thank you for making a quality safe food for my boys!! I have been using this for about 10-11 years and my guys are about30 years old now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the adults that need a little help

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
CandyBandit
from Pierson, Michigan
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I'm not using it right now I have in the past and will again when the foal is ready to graduate from Mare and Foal to an adult food. It's a perfect medium for those who need a little extra help.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy keeper

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
stubbs
from vermont
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have a Haflinger who gains weight on the air but does very well on
safe choice.
Thank you
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A safe and excellent choice

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
SandyJ
from Millington, TN 38053, USA
Age:Over 65
We have horses with various needs....several are seniors, some have problems with ulcers, some with choking...and SafeChoice Original fits the bill for all of them. It's a good nutritional choice, and they like it to boot. Our vet recommends the feed and we have been very pleased with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feed t all my horses with great results

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Frossty
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used Nutrena products for several years now with excellent results and recommend to all my horse friends
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, balanced, lower carb/starch feed

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Dano
from Olathe, KS, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use SafeChoice for both a senior QH and draft cross who are easy keepers in winter and SafeChoice Special Care the rest of the year. I can adjust the amount by their activity and body condition and can add their joint supplement to it and they eagerly clean it up. It is also a slightly softer pellet that I have never had a problem with choke if they eat it more quickly at times. It has been one of the recommended feeds for horses that gain weight easily..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horse like it & do well on it

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
midwest867
from IL
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When my daughter & I bought two horses 5 years ago, one was a 16-yr-old mare (Penny) with delightful retiring owners. Their veterinarian had recommended SafeChoice and that was the only feed they'd ever fed their two horses. I saw no reason to change, and it's the only feed (besides pasture and hay, of course) we've ever fed our 3 horses. Penny is 21 now and still going strong: great body condition and gorgeous coat quality. All 3 of our horses love SafeChoice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

helped him gain his weight back

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
ltilley
Age:Under 18
My horse has severe medical problems and had lost 200 lbs.My vet recommend nutrena original and he has gained all his weight back. I have to be careful what I feed him because he can get "hot" with some feed. He never did. He looks good and feels good. My other two horses have to get a handful just because they like it. I keep him on it now for maintenance. He looks FANTASTIC. Thank you so much for such a great product. It would be nice to have coupons from time to time.thanks again :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

keeping horse healthy and holding weight this winter

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
flash
from Cape Girardeau, MO, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
keeping weight on my my gelding, and mare . gelding is hard to keep weight on
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My horses love it and it helps there body condition

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Steve99362
from Walla Walla, WA, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product . My horses love it and it is an excellent feed .
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SafeChoice Original

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
horsedude
from Pueblo, CO, USA
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horses cannot wait for their SafeChoice each day. They love it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Customer avatar
skyler123
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this for my horse because I didn't want to buy probiotics, biotin, vitamins/minerals, and a good grain separately, and so far it has not disappointed! I've used it for a few weeks and my horse has showed no signs of weight gain (which I was worried about), so it works for horses in light exercise.
It smells great and my horse loves it! She eats it with beet pulp and without beet pulp, so it must taste pretty good!
I would definitely recommend this to someone who is looking for an all-around, basic supplement for their horse.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>