Customer reviews for Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

A proven controlled starch formula to support healthy digestion and performance.
Overall rating:
4.823 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(451 reviews) 451
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 451 reviews
5 Stars
392
4 Stars
46
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
435 out of 444(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Review 1 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cody LOVES it!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Codysmom2012
from New York state
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this for my 17yo QH who needed to put on weight. He is on the Senior Safe Choice and loves it and is doing very well on it , gaining at a nice pace. Sure does smell good too :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent feed

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Chasincans247
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was feeding the SafeChoice Original Feed to my gelding up until this year. I absolutely love the feed, especially when I can't rely on people to feed my horses correctly while I am out of town. I have not had any problems with horses colicing on this feed like I had Omolene 200. I would definitely recommend this feed to anyone. I tell everyone with horses about this awesome product. I now feed my gelding SafeChoice Senior. He loves it too! His body condition is top notch. He still performs barrels as good as he did when he was 9 or 10.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quality

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Chris14
from Fairbanks, AK, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My horse does wonderfully on Nutrena. I used to mix many different feeds trying to put and keep weight on my horses. I saw how a friends horses were doing and asked what they fed. I've fed Nutrena ever since!! Love how my horses look!!
Thank you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love using Safe Choice Special Care

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Granny35
from Rochester, WA 98579, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love the Special Care, it works great for my middle age horse, elderly donkey and young donkey, all three get the nutrition and supplements they need all in one without the extra sugar and carbs that none of them need!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nutrena perform

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
sue85
from avon, mn
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our 25 year old gelding is on this feed as recommended by our vet. He is is a hard keeper. On this feed he holds his weight even in frigid minnesota weather. He is also a picky eater, loves this feed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

price

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
hosey1
from TN
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
love Safechoice...have used it now for almost 5 years..Have no issues with Safechoice and highly recommend it....my only issue is price has escalated a lot since I started using it.....and lack of close places to purchase it. a 40 mile round trip is tough....
But as far as the product..love it and will use nothing else....
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would recommend nutrena safe choice to anyone!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Amber325
from belton, tx
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love nutrena safechoice! I had my mare on Purina strategy and it wasn't doing anything for her. Her coat looked dingy all the time and I wasn't happy with the results. I was at tractor supply and saw nutrena safe choice so I thought id try it. I got the nutrena safe choice maintanence feed and after about two weeks I saw huge results in my mare. She's a red roan and she shined like a copper penny when the sun hit her, her mane and tail started growing fuller, and I didn't have to feed her as much as I was feeding strategy. You get more benefits with less feed. I would recommend nutrena safe choice to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great feed

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
TackyLady
from South Carolina, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great over all product ! wish you would make one in a 10% or less I raise Rare breed horses and some just don't do well on anything over 10% protein . My babies need the fat but I am forced to use sweet feed and I hate it. Would rather have them on a pelleted feed. I use this on my older horses. Every one from my stallion at 6 to my old man at 25.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutrena Special Care is the Perfect Choice for My Horses!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
sallielynn
from Climax Springs, MO 65324, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Have fed Nutrena Safe Choice for many years, it was the best choice for my two easy keeper adult horses.
After acquiring two miniature horses and having one easy keeper mature horse, I switched to Nutrena Safe Choice Special Care. The minis and the Rocky Mountain adult are all doing wonderfully with the new Special Care.
Since our pasture is dormant for the winter, they're receiving high quality Bermuda Hay and lots of fresh water along with Special Care. The result is 3 beautiful horses with shiny, healthy coats in near perfect weight! Can't beat that in my book!
Have had horses for nearly 50 years of my life and fed all sorts of feed - the results with Nutrena Safe Choice have been desirable and reliable - thanks for the excellent quality feed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All around great feed!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Nicki
from Northern Michigan
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I fed my pregnant mare all the way through delivery and after. Feed her filly as well. My senior Walking Horses has been on Safe Choice for 3 years and his weight is good. Living in a northern state with lots of snow and below zero temps, I was worried all my horses would lose weight in the winter. That's not the case...all look fantastic. All have 24/7 access to hay, heated water, stalls and I will blanket only if it's cold, wet and windy. I'm thrilled with Safe Choice Original and find no need to switch to Safe Chice Senior "yet". Thank you for a super feed! I buy from Tractor Supply Company and it seems that Safe Choice is always flying off their shelves!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding feed with no troubles!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fairviewfarm
from Grantville, GA
Age:I'd rather not say
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I run a small sanctuary for horses. I have 21 head and three donkeys here. They are various ages, breeds, and have various problems and needs. Each one is different. I want to feed a high quality grain but don't want to have to worry about colic or other digestive issues. Plus horses coming in often have been fed poor quality grain and need something that will not upset their stomachs or cause problems right out of the box. SafeChoice is my go-to feed for everything. Sometimes I supplement it with other things, depending on an individual horse's requirements, but it is the base around which I build everything else. How nice is it to have one less thing to worry about? And fewer vet bills due to colic? I wouldn't feed anything else.
Sue Sweeney
Special Needs Rescue Services, Inc.
Grantville, GA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use Safe Choice Special Care, I appreciate the consistent quality

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
DebC
from Sandy, OR, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nutrena products have been consistent on quality, which I appreciate feeding a horse with IR. Feed changes can have drastic effects on IR, but Nutrena has been dependable. I just had to return a bag of premium feed by another national manufacturer. Thanks for being reputable and maintaining your quality.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe Choice Senior is the best!

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fastrackhorse
from Oregon
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used many senior feeds for my old AQHA stallion. Safe Choice gives me the results I want!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe Coice Senior

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Velvet23
from Jupiter, FL
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a 32 year old Mustang. gelding. He has been an awesome horse his entire life. Won a $10,000 sterling Silver Cup jumping. Also won many ribbons doing dressage. He lost several teeth later in life and I had to switch him to an all around feed since he couldn't eat hay or grass; It would just wad up and fall out of his mouth. After being on Safe Choice Senior for a few months, I couldn't believe the difference in my horse.Not only did he fill out, BUT HE LOOKED AWESOME! His coat was shiny and he had more bounce in his step.I had several people comment on how good he looked. My Vet even commented, that other than his teeth, he couldn't get over how young my horse looked. Personally, I think it is the ground flax seed in the product. Ground flax seed is so good for us, since it is filled with high amounts of Omega 3. I'm sure it's good for horses also. I don't believe there is another horse feed on the market that has as much ground flax seed in it. The feed is also well balanced and has all the nutrition necessary for a healthy horse. I know how good my horse looks on the outside. I am hopeful that this feed has him looking just as good on the inside.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with this product

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Chrissie57
from Middleton, ID
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
And so are my horses! They never leave one bite on their plates!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes horses spooky?

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
DQnTrails
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been feeding this product for 2-3 months, I have some easy keepers so the idea of a ready-to-use controlled starch feed was very appealing.
I love the way the horses look, dark, shiny coats, lost the pudgy hay-belly look, some muscle definition even on the ones not consistantly riden, overall they all look great.
However, my Rocky Mountain gelding, who was always a bit nervy but would settle down after a bit, is now in a constant state of spooking at everything and nothing, making riding him very difficult.
My daughter's 23yr old Arab/paint cross who although fast and very athletic, has always been a "been there done that" horse. He now has started spooking at nothing too.
Since nothing else has changed, I really think it is the food and I plan to switch them back to the Dumor pelleted feed I was feeding them prior to the Nutrena Original Safe Choice.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
DQnTrails
 
Please wait while more information about DQnTrails is loaded.
Additional information about DQnTrails could not be loaded.
Reply and update
Posted July 17, 2014
Thanks for your reply, Lawman561.
I don't think the horses are spooking, they are spooking! It is not just lots of energy, the RMHA always been a forward moving horse with plenty of energy, but now he is spooking at everything and nothing. Jumping and bucking (the bucking is new too) at imaginary things.
The Arab/paint cross has never spooked before being on this food, and my AQHA has been impossible to catch and very jumpy. We haven't riden her at all lately, she has just been impossible to handle just around the barn/pasture.
To update, I cut the Safechoice feed in half, and give them half Dumor 14%. Within a week, the QH mare comes right up to me, the Arab/paint is no longer spooky, and the RMHA has stopped most of the spooking and all the bucking. It has been a month since I changed, and everything continues to be good.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Lawman561
Wellington, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Lawman561 is loaded.
Additional information about Lawman561 could not be loaded.
Spooky?
Posted July 16, 2014
I would check with a vet if they're all of a sudden spooky. The feed might give them more energy then they're used to, and it might seem like they're spooky if they're roarin to go. Two vets in our area and at least half a dozen other active stable owners recommended Nutrena to us. We're in the Wellington area of Florida, and like the high quality feeds with dogs, after just a month on Nutrena our Paint's coats are looking more glossy. Now if I could just find a sure fire hoof supplement to stop one of them chipping and flaking all the time we'd be great.
Good luck.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 17 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Safe Choice

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Lonst715
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this safe choice feed!! Can't believe how good ALL my horses look from weanlings to aged horses!! Thank you a great feed Nutrena!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been using SafeChoice for years!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Kerri
from Arkansas
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great feed! We have been using it for many years! I've never had a skinny horse long. We have used the Original and Mare & foal. My mares are all healthy and happy! We just got a new mare and after two weeks she has shown a difference. I did submit a picture of my mare after 2 weeks on Safechoice. The top is her now and the bottom is the day we got her.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like this product very much

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Riet
from Alabama
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product for several years. It came recommended from my vet. We feed it from minis to Friesians. And everyone does well on it.
Thanks for such a great and safe product
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for all ages and breeds

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
ed62
from Sterling, PA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our horses range from mini to QH and everyone loves it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>