Customer reviews for Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

A proven controlled starch formula to support healthy digestion and performance.
Overall rating:
4.83 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(482 reviews) 482
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 482 reviews
5 Stars
421
4 Stars
48
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
465 out of 474(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Review 1 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product was recommended by my vet.

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Shaun
from Rose City , MI
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have been using Safe Choice Original for about 7 years now and I really like the fact that has low sugars and starch. I have also tried the Safe Choice Maintenance and Safe Choice Senior. I think it is a great product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect feed for show horses

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Paris101
from Wayland, mi
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Since we changed over to Safe Choice from another product , we have noticed a calmer attitude on our show mares, and they seem more focused in the show pen. I would have never believed that a feed choice would make such a difference, but the ribbons won show otherwise. Safe Choice is our only choice now!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safechoice

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Jaye50
from Granby, Ma
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product my horses do great on it. They kept weight on through the winter. I recommend it highly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love having a choice of feeds for each horses needs

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
CMT15
from Buna, TX 77612, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use the Senior for my older horse, the Original for my 10 yr old and the mare and foal for my 2 yr old. I love their over all looks and weight but also their calm attitude. I have fed other feeds with the higher protein and they were too much to handle. I have not experienced that with the SafeChoice. really love it! People always tell me my babies are beautiful. Thanks Nutrena!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Martha
from Cornwallville, NY 12418, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have my 30 year old appaloosa on safe choice senior with empower boost and he is doing great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Feed

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Beki
from Franklin, NC
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We feed a variety of Nutrena Safe Choice feeds along with the original and our horses look great!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I only feed Nutrena products and this is the best all around feed I have found

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Rainy
from Dayton, Nevada
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I feed Nutrena only and I was feeding performance, senior and original. I ran o9ut of all except the Original and am I glad I did. All my horses are doing great and until such tome as my older horses need a complete feed I am
going to just feed original. Makes it easier too! Win, win
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good feed

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
calley02
from Indiana, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I feel like my horses are getting all the nutrients they need in this feed. I have 2 older easy keepers with no health problems on this feed. they have shiny coats and nice hooves with this feed and pasture/hay. I recommend all Nutrena feeds, (I also buy the chicken feed). Thanks for the coupons also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Horses thrive!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
sbelle
from Hamilton, OH, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have performance horses and have maintained them on this feed for over a year and a half. All three look great and love the product. I also appreciate the coupons that I occasionally get with an informative email. Nutrena is the best.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great feed for a senior horses on large pasture!!!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Karen78
from Starke florida
Age:45 - 54
User submitted photo
This great feed helped my grand daughters senior paint horse maintain beautiful body condition and good stamina and energy without the worry of carb overload!! Thank Nutrena Safechoice!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job as advertised

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
streetwalker
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have given this product to my three mares and it puts a shine in their coat and a glint in their eye. I like this product because I can see that it is doing the job it advertises to do. My one mare is very hard to worm and I have used the pelleted wormer in the Safe Choice Original Horse Feed and she eats every bit of it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Find it very platable with great quality

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Customer avatar
circleJcross
from Dover Ohio
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I tried different feeds that were healthy but my horse didn't like the palatability of the product. I had to mix sweet feed in with it to get her to eat it, until I tried safe choice. She loved it and ate all of it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
KDavis
from Cherryvale, KS 67335, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We started feeding this product after having been to a Chris Cox Tour Stop and he recommended it. At the time we had two older horses that we didn't feel were maintaining their weight and condition like they should. After switching to Nutrena SafeChoice there was a significant improvement in both of them. We have added two young horses to the our program and they all get SafeChoice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
magster
Kingman , Az
 
Please wait while more information about magster is loaded.
Additional information about magster could not be loaded.
17 yrs young
Posted March 21, 2015
Just brought home my new mare.she was only getting Alfa hay and seemed alright with her weight. ( of coarse i like them on the heavy side) i got her safe choice and she loves it.the problem is she won't eat her hay now! I give her 2 3/4 lbs twice daily. But shes not eating a flake of hay buy dinner.. should i give her less S / Choice?,??
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have had good results with this product

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer avatar
countryg
from Indiana, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have show horses, working horses and rescues -- this is the one product that I can feed to all with good results in condition. It has taken the constant mixing of supplements and digestive aids out of the the daily feeding. I am very pleased with the product. The first introduction sometimes takes some encouragement, but once used to it -- they seem to take right off.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is a very good choice for all of your basic needs

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Painter1
from Iowa, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this feed since 2006 and always start a new horse or any age horse on this feed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best feed yet!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Peppy
from Morganton, NC 28655, USA
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Love it for all my horses- young, old, training, trail, etc
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for easy keepers

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Dragonchick
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have always made my own mix of horse food to give my horses the best balance in nutrition. I have studied horse nutrition for five years and currently use Safe Choice as my base feed and then add smaller precentages of other feeds to it. I have always used pelleted feed free of sugar so I am not sure how well horses will like it who have been on a sugar feed. My horses love it plain or in my personal mix. I would highly recommend Safe Choice, especially to anyone feeding a sweetfeed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peanut52
Louisiana
 
Please wait while more information about Peanut52 is loaded.
Additional information about Peanut52 could not be loaded.
Posted February 23, 2015
I use safe choice and I use to mix mine with other feed but they do better just safe choice. and I don't have to feed as much. My horses stays fat.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I definitly recommend this feed for all horses

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Bubbas
from Ohio, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
Nutrena Regular Safe Choice is the only feed my 34 year old will eat.
I have tried Senior feeds and other feeds but he just turns his nose up at them. It has been a great feed for all of my horses in the barn ranging in age from 2 to 34.
I would recommend this feed to anyone!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Consistent quality

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Cilann
from Upstate NY and Florida
Age:Over 65
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My horse is insulin resistant. This has been a good feed for her. It is easier to maintain a good weight with good energy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

safe choice original

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Customer avatar
SharnJean
from Science Hill, KY 42553, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A customer at Tractor Supply put me onto this feed when I was making a change. I simply love pellets, no undigested seed in manure=money loss.manure breaks down quicker. Overall condition of my horses is excellent since making the change.
With 5 horses on safe choice, I started buying by the pallet. Wish there was a bulk coupon.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>