Customer reviews for Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

Nutrena SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed

A proven controlled starch formula to support healthy digestion and performance.
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(434 reviews) 434
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 434 reviews
5 Stars
376
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
420 out of 428(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Review 1 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been using SafeChoice for years!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Kerri
from Arkansas
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great feed! We have been using it for many years! I've never had a skinny horse long. We have used the Original and Mare & foal. My mares are all healthy and happy! We just got a new mare and after two weeks she has shown a difference. I did submit a picture of my mare after 2 weeks on Safechoice. The top is her now and the bottom is the day we got her.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like this product very much

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Riet
from Alabama
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this product for several years. It came recommended from my vet. We feed it from minis to Friesians. And everyone does well on it.
Thanks for such a great and safe product
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for all ages and breeds

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
ed62
from Sterling, PA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our horses range from mini to QH and everyone loves it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product it keeps my horses looking and feeling great!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Hansonmkusa
from Gonzales, TX 78629, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I have two QH on this product and they just love the pellets. I just love their coats on the Original Hose Feed. Been feeding for last two yrs when the other grain store feed I was buying just did not do it for my horses like this one does.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a great product for your horses.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My horse looks and feels good on Safe Choice

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
marilynb
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 12 year old quarter horse had a hock injury last June and was recuperating -- by October my "easy keeper" had lost weight. With winter approaching, my vet said to get 100 lbs of weight on him, .I contacted a well-known feed company and fed the recommended feed for his lifestyle but was not getting the results I wanted.....he was shiny but he had no energy and was losing his topline....I contacted Nutrena in January for help and Safe Choice was recommended. My horse is getting 3.5 lbs of Safe Choice and in only three weeks he's looking awesome and he loves the feed -- he is running around, bucking and kicking, full of energy, all shiny and black, and at a good weight. The barn staff has even been commenting on how good he feels. With good vet care, his joint supplement and Nutrena Safe Choice, I have my horse back!! Thank you Nutrena for Safe Choice!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
jrgn1028
from South Bend, IN, USA
Age:25 - 34
Good product. Easy to maintain my horses weight and energy level.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feed

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
BreFinn
from Medford, OR
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a typical hard keeper OTTB gelding, Finn is able to maintain his weight in the spring, summer, and fall, but when winter comes he has a hard time keeping his weight up. So after doing some research I found that Safe Choice original was going to be the way to go. So after 2 weeks of Finn being fed Safe choice, I noticed his coat had a really nice shine to it and his hooves were looking noticeably stronger. Now after 1 month of being on Safe choice Finn has gained more weight and his ribs are no longer peaking thru. Finn is looking better everyday.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My horse loves Safe Choice

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Nata
from Michigan, USA
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My horses always look forward to feeding time! They are sure to eat every last bit of their Safe Choice. Their health has improved and I love that it comes in different varieties. I would like to see Nutrena come up with a feed that has a joint supplement in it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feed

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Jessica95
Age:19 - 24
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had a very very hard keeper even in the summer. We put her on a senior feed, no better results. We tried this and its like a miracle worker! Never have looked better than she does now. Love love love this feed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tgsjr
St. Louis
 
Please wait while more information about Tgsjr is loaded.
Additional information about Tgsjr could not be loaded.
Very effective
Posted February 26, 2014
I started my 13 yr old Morgan on safe choice original last summer. He is an easy keeper and it seems he very much enjoys the feed. I noticed a better his His appearance compared to the others not on safe choice is obvious. His appearance is noticeable . His coat is strong and healthy looking . The Shoer compliments the appearance and strength of his hooves. The cold winter this year doesn't appear to have any effect on his coat and weight.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It keeps my horses looking and feeling healthy

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Dawg159
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a horse that when in season will not Eat Safe Choice I have to switch to a different feed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great product

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
kcp5706
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
have used safe choice for years and excellent product
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Tricolorterra
Nancy, Kentucky
 
Please wait while more information about Tricolorterra is loaded.
Additional information about Tricolorterra could not be loaded.
My mare loves Nutrena Safe Choice!
Posted February 16, 2014
My beautiful American Paint has been able to hold her weight through this horrible winter in Kentucky. The vet was just out for a check up & told me she looks fabulous, and she does. Her coat is shiny (when she hasn't rolled in the mud of course!), thick & lush. She truly seems to enjoy her feed & meets me at the gate at feeding times. I feed her twice a day and there is never a pellet left over. Thanks for a wonderful product.
Images for this Comment
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good feed

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
BSizelove
from Alexandria, IN 46001, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like everything about the Safe Choice. Do not like the BHA in the Sr. feed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a feed with a good fat content !!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Robin57
from Piketon, OH, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This feed with its fat content has made a great difference in my horses over all condition.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My horses Love SafeChoice!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Bren2
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My horses look forward to feeding time and I never have to worry about them eating it all. They lick their pans clean! The health has improved and I love that it comes in different varieties depending on time of their life and activity levels.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the first horse grain that I am totally loyal to!

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
mommahen
from Illinois
Age:35 - 44
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE SafeChoice and all of its various forms/feeds. The fact that it includes probiotics and prebiotics in its formula is just what I am looking for in a horse grain. We use several feeds in this line and I am totally sold on its performance. My horses' digestive, nutrition, and health needs are met with the SafeChoice product line. I am a huge fan and I tell all my horse friends.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All 3 horses

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Vickietma
from Blackfoot, ID 83221, USA
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have 3 horses 1 is an older Arabian gelding; 1 Arabian mare 6 or 7 yrs. old and an Appendix Quarter horse mare unsure of age.
All 3 like the flavor and seem to do very well with the feel in the mouth.
does not give any of them gas or any other problems.
I don't have to give an overly large amount to help maintain a good weight
for winter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feed, good price.

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
vslucas
from Hanover, VA, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horses love it and they look great. I am feeding less, better value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for my foundered mare

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
mandy0818
Age:25 - 34
Palatability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
switched from a senior feed to safe choice original. have had great results. thanks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use Nuterna feed all the time and my horses do very well on it.

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
remington59
from Knox, IN 46534, USA
Age:45 - 54
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have used Senior feed on underwieght horses and it works great to put weight on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SafeChoice® Original Horse Feed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our horses love this feed

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Pam77
from East Tennessee
Age:55 - 64
Palatability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for the money 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a great product to start our new horses on. I never worry about giving them this product. They always love it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>